img

DEALING WITH DWI IN NEW MEXICO?

    Many people think getting charged with a DWI (driving while intoxicated) is no big deal, and while that may be true in some states, it’s a criminal offense in New Mexico. Depending on the circumstances, it may be either a misdemeanor or a felony. Either way, when you’ve been arrested for a DWI, it’s a serious matter.

    A DWI conviction can have a bigger impact on your life than you might think. Your license could be suspended, you may receive a large fine, and you might have to spend time in jail, depending on the charge. Having William J. Cooley by your side could be the difference between spending months in jail and spending no time behind bars at all.

    William J. Cooley may be able to get your charges dismissed, reduced, or even dropped. Don’t take unnecessary risks with your future by attempting to handle your DWI case on your own. Your freedom, financial stability, and future job prospects depend on you making the right decision.

Why should I fight a DWI Charge?

You might think that a DWI conviction on your record won’t impact you all that much, but that is, unfortunately, not the case. DWI convictions can create a lasting effect on your life, disturbing everything from your job prospects to your housing options, etc.

The legal penalties alone can cause a catastrophic impact to your life that may take you years to recover from. If you lose your license due to your drunk driving conviction, there’s a good chance you will also lose your job. You may be ordered to pay a hefty fine, impacting your financial stability. And all this stress affects your family all the while.

Also, you will likely have to take drinking-and-driving related classes. And if you are convicted of drunk driving, your insurance premiums are sure to skyrocket, making it difficult to afford good insurance. This means you could be paying financially for that one mistake for many years to come.

These are all important side effects that come from being convicted of a DWI in New Mexico. But hiring William J. Cooley will give you a good chance of avoiding all this chaos in your life.

PENALTIES FOR DWI IN NEW MEXICO

When you speak with William J. Cooley, he can give you a better idea of what kinds of penalties you might be facing in your particular case.

If you are stopped and you refuse a chemical test or fail a chemical test your license will be suspended by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). These penalties are in addition to any criminal or court charges. The MVD has the right to do this under Administrative Per Se and Implied Consent laws.

Your license will be confiscated and in 20 days your driving privileges will be revoked. You have only 10 days, after your arrest, to request a hearing if you wish to protest the suspension. The written request for a hearing must also include the $25 hearing fee or a sworn statement as to why you cannot pay the fee. Hearings are conducted within 90 days of the written request.

If you do not request a hearing or it is not found in your favor you will be subjected to:

  • Imprisonment
  • Fines (typically much steeper than other New Mexico traffic ticket fines)
  • Community service
  • Loss of driving privileges (suspended license in New Mexico)
  • Driver education course
  • Psychological evaluation
  • Ignition interlock device required
  • Court fees

NEW MEXICO DWI PENALTIES BY OFFENSE

1st Offense

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 6 months to 1 year of license revocation
  • 1 year of ignition interlock
  • DWI school
  • Alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Treatment

2nd Offense

  • Between 96 hours and 364 days of jail time
  • 2 years of license revocation
  • Fine between $500 and $1,000
  • 2 years of ignition interlock
  • Alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Treatment
  • Up to 5 years of probation

3rd Offense

  • Between 30 days and 364 days of jail time
  • 3 years of license revocation
  • Between $750 and $1,000 fine
  • 3 years of ignition interlock
  • Alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Treatment
  • Up to 5 years of probation

4th Offense

  • Between 6 months and 18 months of jail time
  • Lifetime license revocation with 5-year court review
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • Lifetime ignition interlock with 5-year court review
  • Alcohol evaluation
  • Treatment
  • Up to 5 years of probation

Other Alcohol-Related Offenses

You can break New Mexico DWI laws in other ways too. Additional offenses include:

Aggravated DWI (Having a 0.16 BAC or higher, refusing to take a BAC test, or causing bodily harm while DWI)

  • 1st Offense: Additional 2 days of jail time
  • 2nd Offense: Additional 4 days of jail time
  • 3rd Offense: Additional 60 days of jail time

Driving while License Revoked for DWI

  • Additional license revocation period of 1 year
  • Additional 7 days to 1 year of jail time
  • Additional fine between $300 and $1,000
  • 30 days of immobilization for vehicle driven by offender

Repeat offenders, especially, are receiving maximum penalties, as they are the most likely to break this law again. A fourth DWI conviction is now a felony in the state of New Mexico. Because the consequences for conviction are so harsh, many people seek the counsel of a DWI attorney after they are arrested on suspicion of driving while impaired.

Defending DWI Charges in NM

After a DWI arrest in New Mexico, many people don’t see how they could possibly get the charges dropped. They don’t realize how much a criminal defense lawyer can do for them. We are able to investigate the case in ways that the average person can’t.

We will obtain witness statements, gather evidence, and comb through each detail of your case to find the flaws and formulate a defense.

Get in Touch with DWI Attorney William J. Cooley

Being charged with a DWI is not something you want to take lightly. You may not fully realize how much a conviction could negatively impact your life until it’s too late. Fortunately, you won’t have to take that chance.

We will investigate all aspects of your arrest, look for holes in the prosecution’s argument, and build you a bulletproof defense. We will use every technique we can to get your charges dismissed, reduced, or dropped altogether.

Contact William J. Cooley Attorney at Law today. Give our office a call at 505-247-4878.